The Ending to the Green Bay/Seattle MNF Game

SEPTEMBER 24, 2012

Here’s my thoughts on the GB/SEA ending: 

Pursuant to NFL Rule 8 Section 1 Article 3 Item 5:  ”Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control…..”  Based on what I can see, Jennings definitely had possession. It is entirely possible that is what the one referee ruled when he signaled touchdown. 

From what I understood, the play was “officially” ruled a touchdown on the field and then went to the replay booth which means there has to be indisputable evidence to over-turn the call. Based on the replays I do not see “indisputable” evidence that Jennings had sole possession of the ball. Therefore, the correct call was to uphold the call on the field. 

If it had been ruled an interception on the field, replay would have upheld the interception based on the “indisputable” evidence rule. 

This to me was handled properly, as per the rules (however sketchy and grey they are).

This is not the straw that breaks the camel’s back as far as replacement refs go. That was when San Francisco was given 5 timeouts against the Vikings. Granted, that didn’t affect the outcome of the game and this did, but that was handled worse than this was.

One other thing to mention: replay officials are not a part of the strike.

Alex HeyComment